Speed Racer

Or as I will from now on reference it as…Kung Foo Cars On Crack. Because, I don’t know if I’ve ever seen anything like this film before. Once again the Brothers Wachowski have come up with an entirely new view of how a movie can be made. Basically, in a nutshell, the plot is about how corporate greed has corrupted our world and it’s up to the little guy to protect what’s right. And apparently what is right is speed. And lots of it.

I would like to say that this movie is for kids, but at over 2 hours in length and with some of the violence, I don’t know if I would recommend it as that. It’s not for adults because it’s way too much visually for anyone over the age of…oh…35? So let’s go with the group of males between the ages of 12-29. I think that works best. The 2 6-year olds I had with me were getting a little antsy by the time this one wrapped up and my head was reeling from all of the flying colors and transitions wiping from scene to scene.

This review is going to be quick because it’s not really hard to follow. Speed Racer and his family race. A lot. And they race really fast. And when they’re not racing fast, they’re reciting silly dialogue that gets them back to driving fast. And that’s the best way to keep it!

Susan Sarandon, John Goodman, Christina Ricci and Emile Hirsch from “Into The Wild” star in what is basically a real live version of a cross between Japanese anime, “Tron”, “Dick Tracy” (yes…some of the outfits and colors reminded me of that old Madonna farce), “The Matrix” and “The Fast & The Furious”, all blended together at turbo speed.

Oh yeah…did I mention that this movie is fast? Seriously…it is. Very…

I give it a C. Not great. Too long. But when the action is happening, nobody does it better than the Wachowski’s!

3 thoughts on “Speed Racer

  1. Thanks for the review. I have a 4yo but I might wait until it’s out to rent, view it myself and see if it’s OK for him.

Leave a Reply

