Into The Wild

Chris McCandless is a college graduate who hates his life. He hates his family (except for his sister). He hates everything that society is. So in order to escape it all, he heads out on an adventure. He burns all of his money or gives it to charity, hops in his car and begins driving. He then dumps his car and begins to walk. And it is while he is walking that he becomes the man that he has always wanted to be.

So many times I watch a biographical movie and find myself wondering what the person might have been thinking while experiencing what he or she might be going through. In this movie, the annoying narrative kept telling me, so I didn’t have to think about it. However, the narrative (done mostly by McCandless’s sister (actress Jena Malone) through most of the film) is the only thing about this movie I didn’t like. I thought the McCandless character was fascinating, and Emile Hirsch was very good (although not brilliant) as the main character. The supporting cast is also top notch (Catherin Keener, William Hurt, Marcia Gay Harden, Hal Holbrook and Kristen Stewart) and the cinematogrophy is fantastic, taking us from the wheat fields of Oklahoma to the barren wilderness of Alaska. Sean Penn directed and wrote the film, so it has his fingerprints all over it! And he did the content proud.

Overall I really enjoyed “Into The Wild”. If anything, it made me want to read the book. If I had to complain, I would say it felt a little long and the narrative should been kept out. I don’t really need to know every little detail of why this character is behaving the way he is. I understood his hatred for his families wealth and his parents’ misguided attempts to make sure his life was perfect. I didn’t need another character describing all of his feeling for me. Hirsch was doing a good enough job on his own! But that would be my only complaints.

Overall Rating: B

One thought on “Into The Wild

Leave a Reply

