“Slumdog” Is Worth A Million!

Set in India and following the journey of a small boy as he grows into a man and finds love is not what I expected to see when I saw this movie. Honestly, I didn’t know WHAT to expect, but I had heard it was a great film, so I went in with very little knowledge. And I’m glad I did, because that made it even sweeter to watch!

I love movies that surprise me. And this one did. Not that I wasn’t expecting a great film. EVERYONE is raving about it! And many are predicting possible nominations in many categories for it at the Oscars…and all the rumors are justified. This IS one of the best pictures of 2008.

Tracking through the life of an Indian orphan, with only his brother by his side, this movie is a “flashback” film, set mostly in a police station and on the set of a gameshow, where the lead character (Jamal Malik) is trying to win $20 million rupees. As Jamal tells his story, we see all of the hardships and all of the growing up that he has done in various stages of his life. And this is also a love story. Early in his life, Jamal and his brother befriend Latika, a young girl who has lost her family also. They become the “3 Musketeers” and, through various situations, thrive with one another. Of course, Jamal is smitten and the rest of the film is his attempt to find her and win her love.

Directed by Danny Boyle (who also directed the fantastic “28 Days Later” and “Sunshine”), this movie is everything you can want in modern moviemaking. Its well paced, has a phenomenal story and characters that you can sympathize with. It is definitely a frontrunner among last year’s films and it would be a great injustice if it doesn’t take home an award or three come Oscar season!

Overall Rating: A

3 thoughts on ““Slumdog” Is Worth A Million!

  1. Very well stated. I also went in not knowing much about this movie other than it was supposed to be great. I want to see it again and again and again. It was exciting and moving and just completely awesome.

    BTW – I really like the soundtrack too.

  2. Well, if “Once” was great, how is “Slumdog” gonna be? Well, worth a million as you stated. Loved the story, the acting was great, and the way we followed the characters through time was very unique. I agree with your grade and predict a massive Oscar night for the dogs!

Leave a Reply

