Paranormal Activity

PARANORMAL ACTIVITY 1shtlayered.jpg

For a measly $11,000, this indie horror film was made and finally distributed to a worldwide audience. It’s reputation was similiar to that of “The Blair Witch Project” in that it was produced independently, it was made on a shoestring budget and the word-of-mouth on it was through the roof. So…what was my opinion of it? Was it worth all the hype? And my opinion is…no.

Not to say this film doesn’t have some pretty interesting & somewhat scary moments. But overall, as a complete film, I was pretty bored by most of it. Here’s the jest…2 lovebirds have moved in together and weird things have been waking them at night. Scratching noises, squeaking steps, etc. So the guy goes out and buys a video camera to document the happenings. Is it a ghost? Or a jealous demon there to wreck havoc on their lives? The idea was a good one and so with that I imagined there would be all kinds of scary stuff going down. And eventually things do happen. But it takes FOREVER to get to the point where I actually felt the hair on the back of my neck stand up and by then it was too late. I had grown tired of this movie and all of the bad acting.

For the record, I really liked “Blair Witch” and I absolutely loved “Cloverfield” (which also used the handheld camera trick) as full length feature films. This movie could have been cut in half and I would have been okay with it and the handheld camera effect loses its luster eventually because the girlfriend keeps asking him to turn it off…over & over & over again. I didn’t really get the 2 characters. Sure, they are a couple dealing with supernatural things, but it takes so long for me to get interested in either of them that I finally almost fell asleep. But it’s when THEY go to sleep when the cool stuff happens. So I had to stay awake for THOSE sequences and toward the end of the movie they really deliver! I won’t tell you what happens but it is at the end when the scary “camera locked down and shooting all night” effect really works. But, in its defense, the ending rivals that of the ending of Blair Witch…and is more satisfying. But I don’t know if it’s worth the admission cost and the time spent to get there…

Overall Rating: C-

Leave a Reply

