Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightning Thief

In Greek mythology, Poseidon is god of the seas. You know Poseidon, right?  Carries a triton. Father of Ariel. But in THIS movie, Poseidon isn’t the father of Ariel, he’s the father of Percy Jackson, a normal teenage boy filled with teen angst and who has discovered that he can sit underwater for long periods of time. Percy & his buddy, Grover, are living the good life until one day at a museum, Percy is attacked by a crazy, substitute teacher who turns into a giant winged bat who wants him to return Zeus’ lightning bolt. From there, things get a little nutty for Percy and his teen angst turns into something even MORE crazy.

Going into this movie, I knew nothing about it other than that kids love the book series much like that of Harry Potter fans and that it had something to do with Greek mythology. So, much to my surprise, I found this movie quite entertaining and not even the least bit heavy-handed. On the contrary, this movie is exactly what I would have hoped it would be…an entertaining movie for me and my 7-year old son.

As always, I don’t want to give away any plot points or any surprise performances, but let me just say this…all of the main characters are perfect for their respective roles. None of the actors are any that I know, but I assume they must be known in the pre-teen circles. Logan Lerman plays Percy and does a fantastic job. His friends Grover & Annabeth are played by Brandon Jackson & Alexandra Daddario and both are excellent choices. Adding to the mix are Uma Thurman as Medusa, Steve Coogan as Hades and Rosario Dawson as Hades’ lovely mistress, Persephone. There are all kinds of mythical creatures along the way and Percy finds himself in all kinds of situations fighting multi-headed dragons and menotaurs. It’s actually very well done and not at all as convoluted as it could be considering the amount of characters that are involved. Directed by Chris Columbus, it seems as if Columbus is right at home with this type of adventure and he should be. He was the director for the first 2 Harry Potter flicks so it’s almost like he’s done this before.

Needless to say, for a kids movie, this film was easy to watch and very exciting at times. I thoroughly enjoyed myself and would definitely sit through it again at some point. Hopefully there will be a sequel and we can follow Percy just like the Harry series. He definitely seems like a character I would like to watch grow up and follow along his path to being a god. And here’s hoping he doesn’t get too heavy like that other popular book character who has made the jump to the big screen because Percy is great just as he is.

Overall Rating: A- (not for children under 7 years old)

3 thoughts on “Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightning Thief

  1. Thanks for the review! I wasn’t planning on seeing this one, but now I think I will. Sounds like a good way for me & the kids to get out of the house for a few hours this weekend!

  2. I’m completely with you on this…I took my 7-yr old to see it twice (once because I had to take his sister and her friend). They loved it, and as an adult, it was a very non-annoying kid’s movie to sit through. Great cast.

Leave a Reply

