Catfish


And then a man with a chainsaw tore right through the window!!! Oooor not…

The IMDB storyline that accompanies this movie says this…

“In late 2007, filmmakers Ariel Schulman and Henry Joost sensed a story unfolding as they began to film the life of Ariel’s brother, Nev. They had no idea that their project would lead to the most exhilarating and unsettling months of their lives. A reality thriller that is a shocking product of our times, Catfish is a riveting story of love, deception and grace within a labyrinth of online intrigue.”

Trust me when I tell you…it’s nowhere nearly as interesting as it sounds.

I had heard about “Catfish” last summer and wanted to see it. I’m glad I didn’t pay to see it in the theater because this little faux “documentary” is pretty bland as far as I’m concerned. The story revolves around the online relationship that one man (Nev Schulman) has with a family in Michigan. As the story evolves, Nev finds himself getting more & more interested in one of the daughters and so he decides to make the trip to visit the them. What he finds when he gets there is not what he expected.

So the tagline for this movie is “Don’t Let Anyone Tell You What It Is.” And that is appropriate enough. However the suspenseful tone of that sentence is nowhere near what you end up getting. This is essentially a documentary about Facebook or any social networking site and how dangerous they can be. Anyone can be someone else and, in this case, Nev finds out that the family he thought he was getting involved with was not who they said they were.

Needless to say, I wasn’t impressed by this film. I couldn’t really get caught up in the “intrigue” of it and when Nev starts to wonder whether or not the girl of his dreams really exists I found myself not really caring that much. I suppose I would have cared more if there had been a little more drama to the ending however what you are left with is more of a character study than a truly dramatic ending and for me it left a lot to be desired.

Overall Rating: C-

Leave a Reply

